Dangling Modifier

فونت زيبا سازفونت زيبا سازفونت زيبا سازفونت زيبا سازفونت زيبا سازفونت زيبا سازفونت زيبا ساز

لطفا از تمام مطالب دیدن فرمایید.

Dangling Modifier

A dangling modifier is an error caused by not placing the noun being modified next to its modifier (or failing to use the noun being modified in the sentence).

Example:

Having seen Blackpool Tower, the Eiffel Tower is more impressive.

The example above intimates that the Eiffel Tower has seen the Blackpool Tower. A correct version would be:

Having seen Blackpool Tower, I am more impressed with the Eiffel Tower.

This version is correct, because "I" is logically attached to "Having seen Blackpool Tower". (Note: "I" is a pronoun: a type of noun.)

Example:

Being born in Dawlish, it is understandable that I miss the sea so much.


In this example, "it" was not born in Dawlish. Better versions would be:

Being born in Dawlish, I understand why I miss the sea so much.
As I was born in Dawlish, it is understandable why I miss the sea so much.
("As I was born in Dawlish" is not a modifier.)



نظرات شما عزیزان:

نام :
آدرس ایمیل:
وب سایت/بلاگ :
متن پیام:
:) :( ;) :D
;)) :X :? :P
:* =(( :O };-
:B /:) =DD :S
-) :-(( :-| :-))
نظر خصوصی

 کد را وارد نمایید:

 

 

 

عکس شما

آپلود عکس دلخواه:






برچسب‌ها:

تاريخ : یک شنبه 20 اسفند 1391برچسب:, | 12:28 | نویسنده : Kalamollah |

.: Weblog Themes By SlideTheme :.


  • مهندس احمدی